Lise Meitner Distinguished Lecture

This colloquium-style distinguished lectures takes places at AlbaNova University Center
in Stockholm on annual basis. AlbaNova University Center host physics departments of
the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm University and Nordita.

The Lise Meitner Distinguished Lecture is sponsored by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences through its Nobel Committee for Physics.

The Lise Meitner Dinstinguished Lecture committee (2016)
Egor Babaev (KTH)
Thors Hans Hansson (Stockholm University)
Mats Wallin (KTH)
Frank Wilczek (MIT and Stockholm University)

The Lectures

2015: Frank Wilczek (MIT)
Physics in 100 years
The shape of physics, and technology closely related to physics, over the next one hundred years. Themes include the many
 faces of unification, the re-imagining of quantum theory, and new forms of engineering on small, intermediate, and large scales.

2016: Bert Halperin (Harvard University)
Defects with Character: Zero-Energy Majorana Modes in Condensed-Matter Systems

Theory predicts the existence of some peculiar phases of quantum condensed matter systems, in which there are extra degrees
 of freedom with very low energy, if localized “defects” are present. In one class of these phases, the size of the low-energy
 Hilbert space corresponds to one-half degree of freedom per defect, and the defects are said too be sites of localized
zero-energy “Majorana modes”. The defects are predicted to obey “non-Abelian statistics” -- i.e., if various defects
can be moved around each other, or if two identical defects can be interchanged, the result will be a unitary transformation
on the quantum mechanical state that depends on the order in which operations are performed, but is insensitive to
many other details. The talk will introduce these concepts and discuss some attempts to realize them in condensed matter systems.