[AlbaNova]

Theory Seminars 2006


Common SU KoF/KTH Theoretical Physics Seminars

Organized by
Ingemar Bengtsson SU - 5537 8517 - ingemar[at]physto.se
Edwin Langmann KTH- 5537 8170 - langmann[at]kth.se

If you have suggestions for speakers or comments please contact us.

Note: there are other theory seminars at AlbaNova organized by other groups, e.g.  SU CoPS

Included are also additional KTH Theoretical Physics seminars (marked by *).



PAST SEMINARS

Tue, June 12
11:00
Pavel Winternitz (Montreal): 
"Symmetry preserving discretization of differential equations
and their numerical applications"
Fri, May 25
11:00
Jan Zaanen (Leiden University): 
"The stripes of the high Tc superconductors"

Wed, May 16
11:00
Dmitri Diakonov (St Petersburg): 
"Ensemble of dyons"

Wed, May 9
11:00
Jose Senovilla (Bilbao)
"A NEW SINGULARITY THEOREM BASED ON SPATIAL AVERAGES"
Wed, May 2
11:00
Göran Lindblad (KTH):
"Reconstruction of quantum states as an inverse problem"

Wed, Apr 25
11:00
Johan Grundberg (MdH): 
"Ultimately equal". Newton and the notion of limit"
Wed, Mar 18
11:00
Dimitra Karabali (New York): 
"Analytic approach to confinement in 3d Yang-Mills theory"
Wed, Apr 11
13:15 (OBS time)
Martin Lindén (KTH): 
"Stepping statistics in molecular motors- lessons from simple models"
Wed, Apr 4
11:00
Ansar Fayyazuddin (New York): 
"Calabi-Yau 3-folds from 2-folds with some applications to AdS/CFT"
Wed, Mar 28
11:00
George Japaridze (Tbilisi): 
"Competing effects of interactions and spin-orbit coupling in a
quantum wire"
Wed, Mar 21
11:00
Subhash Chaturvedi (Hyderabad): 
"Wigner Distributions for Qudits : Two Approaches"
Wed, Mar 14
11:00
Daniel Grumiller (MIT): 
"Introduction to Black Holes in Two Dimensions"

Wed, Mar 7
11:00
Ulf Ekenberg (KTH): 
"Using relativity to improve electronic devices"
Wed., Feb. 21
11:00
Piotr Badziag (SU):
"Revisiting the separability problem"
*Mon, Feb. 19
15:15
Jonas de Woul (KTH): 
"A restricted Hartree-Fock study of the 2D Hubbard model"
KTH exjobb presentation (supervisor: Edwin Langmann)
*Wed, Feb. 12
11:15
Andreas Andersson (KTH): 
"Simulations of the vortex Nernst effect in high temperature
superconductors"
KTH exjobb presentation (supervisor: Jack Lidmar)
*Wed, Feb. 7
15:15
Erik Brandt (KTH): 
"Computational study of cysteine-zinc interactions in polypeptides"
KTH exjobb presentation (supervisor: Olle Edholm)
Wed, Feb. 7
11:00
Kristján R. Kristjánsson (Nordita): 
"Entropy of Three-Charge Black Holes on a Circle"
Wed, Jan. 31
11:00
Linus Wulff (SU): 
"Boundary fermions and coincident D-branes"
Wed, Jan. 24
11:00
Vladimir Krasnov (SU): 
"Intrinsic tunneling in natural atomic superlattices"
Wed, Jan. 10
11:00
Lars Jonsson (KTH): 
"Dynamics of solutions to the pseudo-relativistic Hartree equation
that initially are close to a soliton"
*Mon, Dec 18
13:15
Julian Skrotzki (KTH): 
"Simulation of neutrino oscillations including non-standard"
KTH exjobb presentation (supervisor: Tommy Ohlsson)
Wed, Dec. 13
11:00
Adan Cabello (Sevilla): 
"A new approach for a loophole-free Bell experiment"
Wed, Dec 6
11:00
Erik Lindahl (DBB SU): 
"Thermodynamical properties of biological molecules"

Wed, Nov 29
11:00
Geert Brethouwer (KTH):
"Stratified turbulence"
(Host: Axel Brandenburger)

Wed, Nov  22
11:00
Marek Zukowski (Gdansk University): 
"Non-classical multiphoton correlations"
Wed, Nov 15
11:00
Ernst Helmut Brandt (MIT Stuttgard): 
"Electromagnetic Response of Superconductors"
(Host: Egor Babaev)
Tue, Nov 14
11:15
Edward Farhi (MIT): 
"Physics based approaches to quantum computing"
(Host: Mohamed Bourennane)
Wed, Nov 8
11:00
Konstantin Zarembo (UU): 
"Integrability and Bethe ansatz in the AdS/CFT correspondence"
Wed, Oct 25
11:00
Jens Hoppe (KTH): 
"Fuzzy Riemann Surfaces"
Wed, Oct 18
13:00
Volker Bach (Mainz): 
"On the Brockett-Wegner Diagonalizing Flow"
(Host: Jens Hoppe)
*Wed, Oct 13
10:15
Maciej Trzetrzelewski (Krakow): 
"Large N quantum mechanics"
(Host: Jens Hoppe)
Wed, Oct 11
11:00
Lars Pettersson (SU): 
"
The Local Structure of Water"
Wed, Oct 4
11:00
Kurt Johansson (KTH): 
"Random matrices and determinantal processes"
Wed, Sep 20
11:00
Luigi Amico (Catania): 
"Entaglement in spin chain"
Wed, Sep 13
11:00
Ingemar Bengtsson (SU): 
"Mutually unbiased bases: where can we find them?"
*Fri, Sep 19
10:15
Vladimir Krasnov (SU): 
"A soliton in a coupled sine-Gordon equation"
Wed, Sep 6
11:00
Egor Babaev (KTH): 
"Liquid metallic hydrogen: a quest for novel quantum fluid"
Fri Sep 1
11:00
Claes Uggla (KaU):
"The nature of cosmological singularities"
Wed, Apr 19
11:00
 Susanne Viefers (Oslo): 
"Quantum Hall physics in rotating Bose condensates"
Mon, Mar 27
15:15
 Stephen Hwang (KaU): 
"Stretched membranes"
Fri,  Mar 17
15:30
 Evgeny Akhmedov (KTH): 
"Duality in the seesaw mechanism of neutrino mass generation"
Tue,  Feb. 14
10:15
 Francesco Calogero (Rome): 
"The transition from regular to irregular motions  as travel on Riemann surfaces"
Tue, Feb 2
10:15
 Didina Serban (Saclary): 
"Integrability in the planar N=4 gauge theory and the Hubbard model"




Theory Seminars at AlbaNova in the past (list not complete)

SU KoF 04-06 - KTH Mathematical Physics 97-06 - KTH Particle Theory 01-05 - SCFAB Theory 01-03